Brunei Darussalam will determine the 1st of Ramadan on Sunday afternoon, 29 Syaaban 1440 Hijrah corresponding to the 5th of May 2019. The delegation assigned to sight the new moon of Ramadan comprise of the Syar'ie Court Judges and officers of the Shari'ah Courts, State Judiciary Department, Prime Minister's Office, along with officers from the Ministry of Religious Affairs, the Survey Department, Ministry of Development and the State Mufti Department.

The delegation will sight the new moon of Ramadan at set locations namely, in the Brunei Muara District at the DST Tower, DST Headquarters Building, Tungku Highway; Bukit Agok in Jerudong and Tanjung Batu in Muara Town. While in the Belait District it will take place at Bukit Lumut and Bukit Amboq in the Tutong District. In this regard, the public is advised not to go near these locations. The result of the sighting of the new moon of Ramadan will be announced through Radio Television Brunei on the same evening.

Source: Radio Television Brunei