All land owners in Brunei Darussalam are advised to settle the annual tax of their lands each year. They are also required to pay their land tax arrears, if any.

According to the statement of Land Department, failure to pay land tax and annual land tax arrears within the given period may be subject to legal action under Section 18 of Land Act Chapter 40, whereby the government reserves the right to seize and sell any movable property on the land and also reserves the right to sell and reclaim the land.

The annual land tax and land tax arrears payment can be made at any payment counters of the Land Department in the four districts at the time stipulated. For the Brunei-Muara District, payment can be made on Monday to Thursday and Saturday from 8 until 11 in the morning and 1:45 to 3 in the afternoon. Meanwhile for Belait, Tutong and Temburong Districts, from Monday to Thursday starting 8 to 11 in the morning and from 1:45 to 3 in the afternoon. And on Saturday, from 8 until 11 in the morning and 1:45 to 2:45 in the afternoon.

Payment also can be made through online using credit or debit cards at anytime by browsing the Land Department's website at (LARIS).

Source: Radio Television Brunei