With the consent of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, and in reference to a Media Release issued by the Prime Minister’s Office on the ‘Extension of Temporary Suspension On Cross-Border Activities and Temporary Suspension on Travelling To and From Five Countries of the Indian Subcontinent’ dated 29th of September 2021.


The Prime Minister’s Office informed that the Temporary Suspension on Cross-Border Activities is extended for 16 days from the 16th to 31st of October 2021. This applies to entry of foreign nationals via land and sea ports, including transits through Brunei Darussalam, except for entry and transit travels that have been granted approval by the Government of Brunei Darussalam.


Entry and transits through Brunei Darussalam may only be considered for transit vehicles with Transit Permits that are issued by the Government of Brunei Darussalam, provided that the travellers have attained endorsement from their local authorities for their travels. This will be subject to existing entry conditions and procedures, for the following purposes Official Government travel; Students who are required to attend school; Emergency services such as ambulances, police and military; and vaccinated foreign-registered transport operators with Cross-Country Permits issued by the Government of Brunei Darussalam for import deliveries of essential goods.


Collection and delivery of private goods at border checkpoints handled by runners registered in Brunei Darussalam; and Entry and exit-country travels of commuters via land and sea ports for the purpose of work.


The Temporary Suspension On Travelling To and From Five Countries From The Indian Subcontinent, namely, The Republic of India, The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, The Islamic Republic of Pakistan and The People’s Republic of Bangladesh, is also extended for 16 days from 16th to 31st of October 2021, which applies to; Entry travels of all foreign nationals departing from or through any airport in the Indian subcontinent. However, diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces working in Brunei Darussalam are allowed to enter the country, in accordance with the Ministry of Health’s Standard Operating Procedures, SOPs.


Transits through Brunei Darussalam for all foreign nationals departing from the Indian subcontinent; and Exit-country travels from Brunei Darussalam to the Indian subcontinent for any reason or business matters. However, diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces working in Brunei   Darussalam are allowed to exit the country, as well as foreign nationals who hold an employment or dependent’s pass which has been revoked/cancelled OR the holders of the ‘Special Authorisation Work Pass’ or ‘Professional Visit Visa’ who worked temporarily in Brunei Darussalam and will be returning to their respective countries permanently. Temporary suspension also applies to foreign nationals who have been granted pre-approvals to enter Brunei Darussalam from the Indian subcontinent via pre-authorised flights, which have therefore been suspended.


For further information and details, visit website at ‘www.pmo.gov.bn/travelportal’ or contact travel hotline 120 during working hours or via e-mail at ‘travelapplication@jpm.gov.bn’.



Source: Radio Television Brunei

Leave a Reply