His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Sa'adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam has consented to confer Brunei Darussalam's State Decorations to two hundred and two (202) recipients. The investiture ceremony was in conjunction with His Majesty's 71st Birthday and took place at the Balai Singgahsana Indera Kenchana of Istana Nurul Iman this afternoon.

Also in attendance were His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office, His Royal Highness Prince Mohamed Bolkiah and His Royal Highness Prince 'Abdul Malik.

The ceremony began with the conferment of the Most Honourable Order of Seri Paduka Mahkota Brunei Third Class - S.M.B. to 35 persons. The S.M.B recipients comprised of Government and Private Sector officers. The conferment reflected His Majesty's appreciation to the contributions and services of each recipient in the various fields of national development.

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan Negara Brunei Darussalam then conferred the The Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei Fourth Class - S.U.B to 14 recipients.

His Majesty then conferred the Most Blessed Order of Setia Negara Brunei Fourth Class, PSB to 144 people. Apart from Government servants, the recipients were also from the private sector. The conferments of the State Decorations were meant to motivate the recipients to continue their good contributions and services to the government and the country.

His Majesty also conferred The Most Eminent Order of Islam Brunei Fifth Class, P-U-B to 9 recipients.

Doa Selamat was read by Yang Berhormat Pehin Datu Seri Maharaja Dato Paduka Seri Setia Doctor Ustaz Awang Haji Abdul Aziz bin Juned, the State Mufti.

Also present were Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran-Pengiran Cheteria, Cabinet Ministers, Members of State Councils, Deputy Ministers, Pengiran-Pengiran Peranakan, Pehin-Pehin Manteri, Manteri-Manteri Pedalaman, Ambassadors, High Commissioners, Permanent Secretaries and Heads of Government Departments.

Source: Radio Television Brunei